Accra, Tema, Kumasi and Kasoa should Lock down – President Akufo-Addo

2 min

President Akufo-Addo, Accra, Tema, Kumasi, Obuasi,

President Akufo-Addo has settled on partial lockdown of some part of the country to stem the spread of the deadly coronavirus.

President Akufo-Addo speaking from the Jubilee House, it has been detailed that the lock down will be spelled out during tonight nationwide address by the President at 9pm.

The areas to be affected are Accra, Tema, Kumasi and Kasoa where cases of the COVID-19 had been recorded.

According to the sources a meeting finalizing the lockdown was held this afternoon at the Jubilee House where key ministers overseeing the exercise attended. The selective lockdown takes off at midnight Sunday for two weeks.

Residents of the affected areas have two days- Saturday and Sunday to stock up food items ahead of the declaration.

The action, the sources said was settled on following the disturbing spread of the deadly virus especially among arrivals and gradually spreading to communities.

So far four people are said to have died of the disease and 136 confirmed cases recorded.

The police have already mapped out strategies to curtail movements in the affected areas.

Summary of the Restrictions Imposed on Selected Areas in Ghana by Government for 2weeks.

1.President Akufo-Addo has announced that effective Monday, 30th March, 2020 at 1 am under the Imposition of Restrictions Act, 2020 (Act 1012), there will be restrictions on movement of persons in the Greater Accra Metropolitan Area (GAMA, which include Awutu Senya East ), and the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, for a period of two (2) weeks or 14 days subject to review.

READ ALSO:   You Won’t Believe What Happened to This Anita Owusu Fan!

2.In Greater Accra, the following areas will be affected:
– Accra Metropolis
-Tema Metropolis
-Tema West
-Kpone Katamanso
– Ashiaman
-Okaikwei North
-Ablekuma North
-Ablekuma West
-Ablekuma Central
-Ayawaso East
-Ayawaso North
-Ayawaso West
-Ayawaso Central
-Ga North
-Ga West
-Ga South
-Ga Central
Ga East
-Awutu Senya East

3.In the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area the following areas are affected:
*Kumasi Metropolis;
* Suame
*Old Tafo
*Asokore Mampong
*Atwima Nwabiagya
*Kwabre East
*Afigya-Kwabre South
*Atwima Kwanwoma
*Atwima Nwabiagya North

4.This means that everyone resident in these areas must stay at home for the next two weeks or 14 days, However, if you must go out, it must only be to get essential items such as food, water, medicine, undertake banking transactions, or to use public toilet facilities. But, as much as possible, stay at, h.ome.

5.There shal l be, during this period, no inter-city movement of vehicles and aircraft for private or commercial purposes for the areas of the restrictive measures, except for vehicles and aircrafts providing essential services and those carrying cargo.

6.-Riders of motorbikes are not allowed to carry any additional person, and all intra-city passenger vehicles, such as trotros and taxis, must reduce the number of passengers in order to observe appropriate social distancing and hygiene protocols.

7. All commercial vehicle stations shall observe appropriate hygiene protocols and social distancing.

8.Individuals and institutions providing the following services shall be exempted from the restrictions:
-Members of the Executive, Legislature and the Judiciary;
-Production, distribution and marketing of food, beverages, pharmaceuticals, medicine, paper and plastic packages.
-Environmental and sanitation activities;
-VALCO staff
-Road and Railway
construction workers;
-Mining workers;
-Members of the security agencies assigned lawful duties;
-The staff of electricity, water, telecommunications, e-commerce and digital service providers; and
-Fuel stations staff.

READ ALSO:   Dark Thursday: Castro’s Ex Manager DJ Amess Dead

Like it? Share with your friends!



WhatsApp chat