Albert Kwabena Dwumfour (General One) elected new GJA President

1 min

Albert Kwabena Dwumfour

Albert Kwabena Dwumfour has been elected the new Ghana Journalists Association President.

The media consultant and Head of Corporate Affairs at the Tobinco Group of Companies fended off competition from the Editor of the Ghanaian Times and former General Secretary of the GJA, Dave Agbenu and a Communications Consultant, Gayhart Mensah.

While Albert Dwumfuor polled 233 votes, Gayheart Mensah got 181 votes and Dave Agbenu had 142 votes. Over 800 members of the GJA cast their ballots today, June 24, 2022, to elect the new national and regional executives.

The Vice-President position was contested solely by the incumbent, Linda Asante Agyei while Audrey Dekalu also went unopposed for the Treasurer position.

Albert Kwabena Dwumfour

Kofi Yeboah was elected the General Secretary, beating a new entrant; Akwasi Agyemang of Adom FM.

New entrant Dominic Hlordzi of GBC won the National Organising Secretary race, beating long-time crime reporter and current Foreign and Supplements Editor of the Daily Graphic, Mary Mensah.

Thanks for reading today’s news from GHKasa and we urge you to spread this news across the various social media networks and do follow us on our social media platforms as well. on; FacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram, and more for the latest news over the web.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on 0241481651.




Like it? Share with your friends!



WhatsApp chat