How to vote for Ghanaian Films Nominated In Seven Categories At AMVCA’s

2 min


Africa Magic at the weekend released the full list of nominees for this year’s Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA’s) during a special broadcast. Of the twenty five categories Ghana won nomination in seven categories with the biggest scoring movie being Potato Potahto produced by Sparrow Production.

The list of nominees from Ghana include Shirley Frimpong Manso, Adjetey Anang, Chris Attoh and Lydia Forson amongst others. The movie Potato Potahto received five nominations in different categories including overall Best Movie in West Africa. The same movie was also selected for best costume designs from Christie Brown and Shirley Frimpong Manso also listed on the nominee list for Overall Best Director.

Voting for the AMVCAs are open and will close on Sunday, 24 August 2018. Voting takes place on Mobile/Web only and you must be a registered voter to do so. You must have completed your registration to be eligible to vote for your favourite nominee(s) in the various categories.

If you haven’t already registered, follow the easy steps here. If you’ve already registered, then go ahead and cast your Vote here.

Voting on the AMVCA website and mobisite if you’re a registered voter:

  • You may vote for your favourite nominee(s) via the Africa Magic website–
  • Click on the Vote menu item.
  • Click on Sign in and enter your cell phone number in the international format e.g. +27731234567.
  • Enter your chosen password
  • Select your favourite nominee(s) in the various categories.
  • Enter your number of votes and cast your vote by clicking VOTE.
  • Votes on the website and mobisite are limited to 100 votes per user.
  • Website votes are free.
  • Data costs apply.

Make your mark and ensure that the best win AMVCA 2018. Who will it be? Voting is now open here and closes on August 24, 2018. Join the conversation on social media using #AMVCA2018.

Here is the list categories with Ghanaian Movies/Directors nominated in:

Best Overall Movie
Potato Potahto
Alter Ego
18 Hours
Devil’s Chest
The Road to Sunrise

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)
Toyin Abraham – Tatu
Dorcas Fapson – Banana Island Ghost
Funlola Aofiyebi-Raimi – Tatu
Ebele Okaro – Blackrose
Lydia Forson – Isoken
Emem Inwang – Alter Ego

Best Director Movie
Moses Inwang – Alter Ego
Aloayke Omoake – Idemuza
Asurf Oluseyi  – Hakkunde
Don Omope – Tatu
Jade Osiberu – Isoken
Mulindwa Richard – The Torture
Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Potato Potahto

Best Costume Designer Movie or TV Series
Potato Potahto
The Bridge

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)
Wale Ojo – Alter Ego
Kalu Ikeagwu – Benevolence
Rushabiro Raymond – The Torture
Adjetey Anang – Keteke
Adjetey Anang – Sidechic Gang
Chris Attoh – Esohe

Best Actor in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series)
Kalu Ikeagwu  – Dr Mekam
Blossom Chukwujekwu – The Big Fat Lie
IK Ogbonna – Excess Luggage
Jimmy Odukoya  – Guynman
OC Ukeje – Potato Potahto
Odunlade Adekola  – A Million Baby

Best Movie West Africa
Potato Potahto
Alter Ego
Children of Mud

Voting for the AMVCAs are open and will close on Sunday, 24 August 2018. All terms and conditions apply and are available on the Africa Magic website.

Like it? Share with your friends!



WhatsApp chat